stuffed portabellos

portabellos stuffed with baby spinach, fresh salsa and feta cheese

I have a theory about mushrooms: either you love ’em or hate ’em. I am Team Mushroom all the way (the hubby is Anti-‘Shroom). Portabello mushrooms are one of my faves, especially when they are stuffed.

A while ago I bought some stuffed portabellos prepared by our grocery store’s deli, which were stuffed with spinach, pico de gallo, and crumbled feta cheese. I baked them in the oven at home; they were very yummy but super expensive and I figured I could make my own for a lot less money.

Here’s what I came up with…

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 2 portabello mushrooms
  • crumbled feta cheese
  • baby spinach
  • fresh pico de gallo OR fresh salsa
  • salt & pepper, to taste

WHAT YOU DO:

Clean the portabellos: Gently rub any dirt off the tops with a damp paper towel. Snap off the stems then gently scrape off the “gills” underneath the cap using a spoon. The gills usually smell sorta musty, and take up valuable stuffable space, so they gotta go. I don’t know why but I love scraping/peeling off the spongy gills, though writing about it seems like I should be on some TLC show about weird obsessions, and also that I’m oversharing here… Anyway once the mushrooms are clean, stuff the insides with baby spinach, salsa/pico de gallo, and feta, in whatever amounts look tasty to you. I use a lot of spinach on the bottom layer since it shrinks so much as it cooks. Season with salt and pepper if desired.

Place stuffed portabello caps on a foil-lined baking sheet, and broil for 15-20 mins or until the cheese starts to brown. You could also grill these instead of using the oven.

3-20-2013 stuffed portabellos (3)

 

 

3-20-2013 stuffed portabellos (4) 3-20-2013 stuffed portabellos (6)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a variation on these ‘shrooms: Stuffed Baby Bellas

