I have always hated cleaning the microwave. It’s so gross trying to scrub off crumbs and splatters.

I tried a cleaning tip I saw on Pinterest and it’s the only way I clean our microwave now.

Here’s what you do:

  • Combine 1 c. vinegar and 1 c. hot water in a microwave-safe glass bowl. Make sure bowl is big enough for the water when it starts boiling.
  • Microwave for 10 minutes, then keep the microwave door closed for approximately 5 minutes. Remove bowl with pot holders because it will be boiling hot.
  • Since the water/vinegar mix steam cleaned, all you have to do is wipe with a damp rag (I wear dishwashing gloves too).

Note: This does make the kitchen smell vinegar-y (or as our son said “It smells like Easter Eggs in here”) but the vinegar smell doesn’t last for long and I don’t even mind because it’s so easy to wipe all that nasty gunk off.

microwave cleaning

UPDATE: I also ditched the Jet Dry, and use vinegar as a dishwasher rinse-aid. No harsh chemicals!

