Part of my SHOP ONCE, MAKE 10 FREEZER RECIPES project.

I am a huge baked potato soup fan. A while ago I shared my recipe for Loaded Baked Potato Soup. Of course, I am also a huge Crock Pot fan. We had some friends over to watch football, and I tried a CrockPot version from suchamom.com. It was a hit. I was skeptical at first because it looked bland sitting in the slow cooker, but once we topped it with bacon bits, shredded cheese, and crackers it looked just as good as it tasted.

After the party, I froze the extra soup and we enjoyed it a few weeks later during Thanksgiving. It was just as delicious the second time around.

Here’s what I ended up with:

slow cooker loaded potato soup

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 7 large potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 c. cream
  • 3 packages of cream cheese (8 oz. each)
  • 1-2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 9 c. chicken broth – try homemade!
  • 1/3 c. butter
  • Optional: Cornstarch, if needed, to thicken

For toppings: shredded cheese, bacon bits, onions, chives, sour cream, etc.

WHAT YOU DO:

Combine in slow cooker: potatoes, onion, broth, and garlic. Cook on HIGH for 4-5 hours (or until the potatoes are soft).

Mash potatoes to thicken the soup. (Next time I might even try blending it in the blender to make it super smooth). Then add the butter, cream, and cream cheese. Cook for 30-45 minutes.

Serve, and add toppings.

