Here’s a CrockPot recipe I tried from the cookbook Make It Fast, Cook It Slow: The Big Book of Everyday Slow Cooking by Stephanie O’Dea.

I must admit I had never purchased beef short ribs before and was sticker-shocked when they cost nearly $30 from our store’s meat counter! The original recipe called for 4 lbs. of meat, so I used 2 lbs. and stashed the rest in the freezer. 

This recipe is so easy to make – you just throw all the ingredients in your CrockPot!

slow cooker korean ribs - just put all the ingredients in the crock pot and go - so tender they fall off the bone

WHAT YOU NEED:
2-4 lbs. beef short ribs
1 c. brown sugar, packed
1 c. soy sauce
1/2 c. water
3 whole seranno peppers

For this recipe, just call me Sister Maria because these are a few of my favorite things…

  • A ginormous can of soy sauce. One gallon to be exact. I lovingly refer to this as my gas can of Kikoman. It’s only $17 on Amazon, and with free Prime shipping, I love it. It’s great for marinades, stir fry recipes, and just sprinkling on rice.
  • Speaking of rice, here’s my new favorite appliance: a rice cooker! Yes I am excited about an appliance. I need to get out more, ha. You just pour in rice, water, put the lid on, and push the button. It pops up when it’s done! I haven’t used it yet to steam vegetables, but it came with a little tray for veggies. Bonus!
  • Here’s my must-have for any slow cooker meal: Slow Cooker liners. They make clean-up so much easier! No more scraping or scrubbing caked on food. I think they are a little pricey, but well worth the money.

WHAT YOU DO:
Place ribs in a 6-quart (or larger) slow cooker. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, water, and peppers. DO NOT cut the peppers – leave them whole. Cover and cook on LOW for 4-8 hours, until thoroughly cooked. Approximately half-way through, flip ribs over. Discard whole peppers unless you’re feeling really brave and want some serious heat, but I wouldn’t recommend it, lol.

Serve with veggies or rice.

