Chili and oyster stew are a Christmas tradition on my side of the family. When I was younger I only liked the chili but now that I have grown wiser in my ways and my tastes have matured (ha!) I looooovvvve oyster stew too.

Here is a link to my “no recipe” recipe chili.

And here’s how our Christmas 2015 oyster stew turned out…

Oyster Stew Recipe adapted from Paula Deen- a Christmas tradition - we always have oyster stew and chili

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 2 Tbs. butter
  • 12 oz fresh raw oysters, undrained
  • 1 quart (32 oz.) whole milk
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • optional toppings: oyster crackers, sliced green onions

WHAT YOU DO:

Saute onion in butter until tender.

Add oysters, milk, and seasoning.

Cook over low heat until edges of oysters begin to curl, and the stew is hot but not boiling.

Top with crackers after serving and garnish with sliced green onions.

recipe adapted from PaulaDeen.com
